“Remains Of The Day” Author Kazuo Ishiguro Wins Nobel Prize In Literature

Kazuo Ishiguro. Photo by Athena Pictures/REX/Shutterstock (4793470d)

The Nobel Prize in Literature for the year 2017 went to Kazuo Ishiguro, the author of Remains of the Day. His famous 1989 novel was adapted into a 1993 drama starring Anthony Hopkins, Emma Thompson, James Fox, Hugh Grant, Christopher Reeve and Ben Chaplin. 2010 film Never Let Me Go is also an adaptation of Ishiguro’s novel.

As Sara Daniu, the permanent secretary of The Swedish Academy, said, Ishiguro is a “mix of Jane Austen and Franz Kafka, but you have to add a little bit of Marcel Proust into the mix.”

The author has published seven novels so far, including A Pale View of Hills (1982), An Artist of the Floating World (1986), The Remains of the Day (1989), The Unconsoled (1995), When We Were Orphans (2000), Never Let Me Go (2005), and The Buried Giant (2015).