Grey’s Anatomy Firefighter Spinoff Gets title, “Station 19”

Jason George in "Station 19," Photo by ABC

The upcoming spinoff of ABC’s hit medical drama Grey’s Anatomy, revolving around the lives of Seattle firefighters, was simply referred to as “untitled Grey’s Anatomy spinoff” for a long time. Now, however, you can call it Station 19, since that will be show’s official title. This was revealed by show’s executive producer Paris Barclay, who shared the title with her Twitter followers.

Although everyone was eagerly anticipating the title, show’s star Jason George wasn’t nervous about it and said he was fine with the Grey’s Anatomy spinoff as title. Well, George, we hope you didn’t get too attached.

“Right now everybody just refers to us as the Grey’s Anatomy spinoff, which is perfect because it helps remind everybody that we live in the same universe as Grey’s Anatomy,” George said while talking with E! News. “And I’m a fan of the show, as well as having been on it, so I’m happy about that.”

The spinoff was announced in May 2017 with Stacy McKee, long-term writer of Grey’s Anatomy, serving as a showrunner and executive produce. ABC didn’t reveal much about the show except it will follow “a group of heroic firefighters of the Seattle Fire Department at Station 19 from the captain down the ranks to the newest recruit in their personal and professional lives.” The first season will have 10 episodes.

Jaina Lee Ortiz (Rosewood) was cast as the female lead Andy Herrera while Jason George will reprise his role of Ben Warren from the original. Barrett Doss, Okieriete Onaodowan, Jay Hayden, Alberto Frezza, Danielle Savre, and Grey Damon join as part of the cast as well.

Station 19 is set to premiere on March 22, 2018, with a two-hour long first episode.