“Batwoman,” “Riverdale,” and “The Flash” Among 13 Series Renewed by the CW

The CW has given early renewals to 13 scripted show, including new shows Batwoman and Nancy Drew.

Also being renewed are All American, Black Lightning, Charmed, DC’S Legends of Tomorrow, Dynasty, The Flash, In the Dark, Legacies, Riverdale, Supergirl and Roswell, New Mexico. The CW renewed In the Dark, Roswell, and Legends of Tomorrow before their current seasons premiered; they are still in production.

Early renewal allows for the network to receive finished scripts before a possible writer’s strike could happen.

“These early orders for next season give our production teams a head start in plotting out story arcs and a jump on hiring staff, and this also provides us with a strong foundation of established, fan-favorite CW shows to build on for next season,” said CW President Mark Pedowitz.

“We’ve been thrilled with the creative direction of all three new series, and even though we are in the very early stages of our new full stack streaming strategy, which allows viewers to catch up on our new shows from the beginning, we’re already seeing incredibly positive results from our multiplatform viewership for Nancy Drew and Batwoman,” Pedowitz continued.