“The Magicians” to End After Season 5

One of Syfy’s most consistent shows over the past years has been cancelled. 

The network announced that The Magicians, based on Lev Grossman’s bestselling novels of the same name, will end with its current fifth season. 

Created by John McNamara and Sera Gamble, the series follows a group of 20-somethings attending Brakebills University for magicians as they discover their magical abilities and ward off evil creatures. 

The Magicians has been a part of our Syfy family for five fantastic seasons,” Syfy said in a statement. “As we near the end of this journey, we want to thank John McNamara, Sera Gamble, Henry Alonso Myers, Lev Grossman, and our entire brilliant cast, crew, writers and directors for their beautiful creation. But most of all, we thank the fans for their tremendous support and passion. Because of you, magic will be in our hearts forever.”

Season four saw the departure of one of the show’s main cast members, Jason Ralph, who played Quentin Coldwater. Remaining leading castmates in season 5 include Stella Maeve as Julia Wicker, Hale Appleman as Eliot Waugh, Arjun Gupta as Penny Adiyodi, Summer Bishil as Margo Hanson, and Olivia Taylor Dudley as Alice Quinn.

The season finale, now officially series finale, will air April 1st.