The Grammys Announces its Lifetime Achievement Recipients

Ozzy Osbourne of Black Sabbath in concert. Photo by Hell Gate Media/REX/Shutterstock (5760206c)

Eating those bats did not go to waste!

The Recording Academy has announced who will be receiving Lifetime Achievement Grammys during a special ceremony next May.

The list spans across all genres of music and includes both bands and individual artists.

Amongst the honorees is Black Sabbath whose lead singer, Ozzy Osbourne, infamously bit a bat on stage during a show in 1982.

The rockers will be joined by jazz singer Billy Eckstine, Latin crooner Julio Iglesias, and Dionne Warwick, as well as George Clinton and Parliament-Funkadelic, Donny Hathaway, and Sam & Dave.

Eckstine and Hathaway will both be honored posthumously, as will Dave Prater of Sam & Dave.

Trustees Awards will also be given to producer Lou Adler, artists and songwriters Ashford and Simpson, and songwriter Johnny Mandel.

The Lifetime Achievement ceremony will take place in Los Angeles on May 11th.