“Everything Everywhere” & “The Bear” Lead the Way at the 2023 Independent Spirit Awards

Michelle Yeoh in
Michelle Yeoh in "Everything Everywhere All at Once"

Another Independent Spirit Awards ceremony is behind us, and it paved the way for the remainder of this year’s awards season. Everything Everywhere All at Once topped the list of winners with a total of seven awards, while The Bear dominated the TV field with two.

The total domination of Everything Everywhere doesn’t come as a shocker after it entered the night with a total of eight nominations, but it’s still quite historic. This sci-fi dramedy managed to win in all the seven categories it was nominated for, making history the most-awarded film at the Independent Spirit Awards.

In addition to winning best feature, its helmers Daniel Kwan and Daniel Scheinert also collected accolades for writing and directing this film, while Paul Rogers picked up a trophy for editing it. Its stars Michelle Yeoh, Ke Huy Quan, and Stephanie Hsu all collected acting awards in their respective categories.

Film Independent also handed out awards in several TV categories for the third time this year, and The Bear was the biggest winner of the night. It was named the best new scripted series, while Ayo Edebiri picked up a trophy for her supporting performance in this show.

The 38th Independent Spirit Awards took place on March 4 at Santa Monica Pier, California, with Hasan Minhaj hosting the festivities for the first time.


Best Feature

Everything Everywhere All at Once

Best Lead Performance

Michelle Yeoh
Everything Everywhere All at Once

Best Lead Performance in a New Scripted Series

Quinta Brunson
Abbott Elementary

Best Director

Daniel Kwan & Daniel Scheinert
Everything Everywhere All at Once

John Cassavetes Award

The Cathedral
Writer/Director: Ricky D’Ambrose
Producer: Graham Swon

Best First Feature

Director: Charlotte Wells
Producers: Mark Ceryak, Amy Jackson, Barry Jenkins, Adele Romanski

Robert Altman Award

Women Talking
Director: Sarah Polley
Casting Directors: John Buchan, Jason Knight
Ensemble Cast: Shayla Brown, Jessie Buckley, Claire Foy, Kira Guloien, Kate Hallett, Judith Ivey, Rooney Mara, Sheila McCarthy, Frances McDormand, Michelle McLeod, Liv McNeil, Ben Whishaw, August Winter

Producers Award

Tory Lenosky

Best Breakthrough Performance

Stephanie Hsu
Everything Everywhere All At Once

Someone To Watch Award

Nikyatu Jusu

Best Cinematography

Florian Hoffmeister

Best Editing

Paul Rogers
Everything Everywhere All At Once

Best New Non-Scripted or Documentary Series

The Rehearsal
Creator/Executive Producer: Nathan Fielder
Executive Producers: Dave Paige, Dan McManus, Christie Smith
Co-Executive Producers: Carrie Kemper, Eric Notarnicola

Truer Than Fiction Award

Reid Davenport
I Didn’t See You There

Best New Scripted Series

The Bear
Creator/Executive Producer: Christopher Storer
Executive Producers: Joanna Calo, Josh Senior, Hiro Murai
Co-Executive Producer: Rene Gube

Best Ensemble Cast in a New Scripted Series

Ensemble Cast: Soji Arai, Jin Ha, Inji Jeong, Minha Kim, Kaho Minami, Lee Minho, Steve Sanghyun Noh, Anna Sawai, Jimmi Simpson, Yuh-jung Youn

Best Screenplay

Daniel Kwan & Daniel Scheinert
Everything Everywhere All At Once

Best First Screenplay

John Patton Ford
Emily the Criminal

Best International Film

Director: Saim Sadiq

Best Supporting Performance In a New Scripted Series

Ayo Edebiri
The Bear

Best Documentary

All the Beauty and the Bloodshed
Director/Producer: Laura Poitras
Producers: Howard Gertler, Nan Goldin, Yoni Golijov, John Lyons

Best Supporting Performance (Film)

Ke Huy Quan
Everything Everywhere All at Once